What I’ve Learned from Advertising on KindleBoards

I bought some advertising on Kindle Boards, and my banner ad is up today.  It will be up again on June 5, too, if I understand right.

My Kindle!

My Kindle!

I don’t know what kinds of results this will yield.  I do know that it’s been a valuable experience for me because my knowledge about how online publishing works is expanding.  I love learning new things.  Here are some of the highlights from this experience so far:

  • I learned how to buy advertising…which made me very nervous at first, but it seemed to work out okay.  The people on KindleBoards were very helpful when I asked questions by e-mail.
  • I learned a little about the cost of advertising and what I could buy on different sites.  Ultimately I chose Kindle Boards for my first try, but I may experiment with ads on other sites as it fits into my budget and schedule.  I don’t have any plans to do buy more advertising right away.
  • I learned how to create a banner ad image using the specs the folks at KindleBoards gave me and a photo editing program I have on my home computer.  That took all of one afternoon, but I had a great time.
  • I learned that there is a time between the time you purchase advertising and the time it actually appears.  Common sense, I know, but I’d never thought about it before.
  • I learned that my husband is even more supportive of my efforts to grow than I realized.  It seems important to him that I develop my writing on every front, and that includes learning how to market it.  Happy sigh here…he’s amazing.

I’ll probably post again about advertising when I see what happens with it, if anything.  If nothing else, I’m enjoying the education.

Leave a comment