Archive for March 10th, 2013

March 10, 2013

Catching up on some blog awards

beautiful-blogger-award

The past few weeks have been hectic enough that I’ve neglected a few blog award nominations. Today is my fun day–and I’m caught up with most things–so I’m having fun with them here!

Thanks to Charles Yallowtiz for the nominations! In case you haven’t had a chance to look at his book yet, here’s  a link to Legends of Windemere: Beginning of a Hero.

And here are the requirements for the Beautiful Blogger award: 15 nominations, and seven things about me.

Nominations:

Seven things:

  • My LEAST favorite foods when I was growing up: cheese, chicken, and eggs. Funny that I love those same foods now.
  • Most of the light bulbs in my house are the energy-saving kind.
  • I miss my childhood encyclopedia set. It had the best science experiment ideas in it…
  • I love home schooling. I really, really love it.
  • AND I support the public school system. Good things happen there, too.
  • Given the choice between gold and silver, I’d probably choose gold. It just looks more cheerful.
  • I can sew, just not very well.

Now the Sunshine Award, with ten questions and twelve nominees.

sunshine-award

Questions:

  • favorite color?–royal blue, I think
  • favorite animal?–dog (one in particular)
  • favorite number?–five
  • favorite non-alcoholic drink?–Cherry Crush, sometimes, and sometimes just chocolate milk.
  • prefer facebook or twitter?–facebook, because I have lots of great friends there and I’m just getting started with twitter
  • my passion?–becoming a better person, all the time, so I can be a better help to my family. Writing is a part of that.
  • prefer giving or getting presents?–giving, most especially to my children
  • favorite pattern?–wavy lines in light blues and greens
  • favorite day of the week?– Sunday; or maybe Saturday. Or Monday. Wednesdays are good, too. This is a hard question.
  • favorite flower?–Lilacs. Also Johnny-Jump Ups and Marigolds.

Nominees (thanks to all of you for lifting my spirits at one time or another)

And now the Best Moment Award. This one’s trickier–here’s some info:

RULES:

Winners re-post this starting with their acceptance speech. This could be written or video recorded.

Winners have the privilege of awarding the next 15 people with this award! The re-post should include a NEW set of 15 people/blogs worthy of the award; and winners notify them the great news.

RESOURCES:

  • What makes a good acceptance speech?
    • Gratitude. Thank the people who helped you along the way
    • Humor. Keep us entertained and smiling
    • Inspiration. Make your story touch our lives
  • Get an idea from the great acceptance speeches, compiled in MomentMatters.com/Speech
  • Display the award’s badge on your blog/website, downloadable in MomentMatters.com/Award

First-Best-Moment-Award-Winner

Awarding the people who live in the moment,
The noble who write and capture the best in life,
The bold who reminded us what really mattered –
Savoring the experience of quality time.

My Speech–disclaimer here. I’m terrible at these kinds of things:

Once upon a time, I was born. 

Back in those days, my father was a  new farmer. He remembers my birthday because the first calves born on his farm were also born on my birthday.

I don’t know what that says about me, other than a few really great people have thought I’m important enough to remember, and I’m grateful for that. 

Thanks to my parents for letting me write when I should have been doing chores, and thanks for always reading my blog posts and saying they’re wonderful. Thanks to my husband and my really great children for encouraging me, for enjoying my writing and for sharing my dreams. Thanks to all my friends, old and new, offline and online, for your consistent kindness to me.

Especial thanks to Charles Yallowitz for remembering me and nominating me for this award.

Nominees (I haven’t checked to see whether any of them already have this award, so hopefully I’m not duplicating):

Tags:
